Review: ‘Shattered’ by Kathi Baron


Shattere

 

Review:

I was provided with an eCopy from NetGalley and from the author. Thank you!

I want to start this review by saying that I’m a violin girl. Since I was 7, I’ve spent 3-4 hours a day with my violin. I’m in love with this beautiful instrument and I can’t imagine my life without it. So when I found this book on NetGalley, I was so excited that I requested immediately. When I received the eBook, I started to read it immediately.

What made me love this book from the start was the fact that Cassie, the main character and also the violin girl of this book, was playing the Mendelssohn concerto, which I am playing right now. So this was a good start. Plus, I loved that the numbers of the chapters were surrounded by musical notes. Loved this!

Another thing that made me love the book was, of course, the fact that Cassie is a violinist. I love books about violinists, because I can understand them the best. I know exactly how they feel, what they thing and their reasons when they do something. I also liked Cassie because she isn’t a normal violinist. Usually, violinists don’t play baseball or do any dangerous activity with their hands. But Cassie, like me, takes the risk and does whatever she likes. Plus, she was only 14,I’m 14, she’s called a violin prodigy, I’ve been called a violin prodigy, so we are a lot alike!

Kathi’s writing-style is very easy to follow and very beautiful. The author used a language specific to a 14 y/o violinist teenager. I even recognize some words and expressions that I also use!

The action is very hooking! There’s always something that changes the situation and surprises the reader! Oh, how I loved this thing! I never knew what to expect from Cassie! Also, the book has an alert rhythm that keeps you breathless.

I loved the atmosphere in this book! Violin lessions, concerts, a person that is in love with a violin, a tragic history… this is my kind of book.

The only moment when I felt the urge to throw the book away when Cassie’s father broke her violin. I felt like I wanted friggin’ beat him and broke him like he broke that wonderful violin! But then, after I found out the tragic past of Cassie’s dad, I kind of understood him.

Over all, ‘Shattered’ made me happy. Reading it, I felt happy, sad, excited or even relaxed. ‘Shattered’ it’s th kind of easy book, with smart characters, difficult situations and a slighty note of dramatism. Loved it!

Blurb:

Teen violin prodigy Cassie has been tiptoeing around her father, whose moods have become increasingly explosive.After he destroys her beloved and valuable violin in a sudden rage, Cassie, shocked, runs away, eventually seeking refuge in a homeless shelter.She later learns that her father, a former violinist, was physically beaten as a child by her grandfather, a painful secret he’s kept hidden from his family, and the cause of his violent outbursts. With all of their lives shattered in some way, Cassie’s family must struggle to repair their broken relationships.As Cassie moves forward, she ultimately finds a way to help others, having developed compassion through her own painful experiences. Written in lyrical prose, SHATTERED tells the moving story of how one girl finds inner strength through music.

3 thoughts on “Review: ‘Shattered’ by Kathi Baron

  1. Thank you, Bianca, for all of your kind words about my work! You just made me happy all over again that I wrote this book. While writing it, I consulted a violinist who’s also a teacher of members of the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra. She suggested the Mendelssohn Concerto for Cassie to play at her solo debut. And now you’re playing it! And I love the musical notes, too! When I submitted the manuscript to my publisher, I had put some clipart of notes on the top of each new chapter heading, because I wanted it to feel like you’re reading music. When the hardbound copy was in the process of getting produced, the book designer found the larger, bigger notes, which are beautiful. It was a bit of a technological puzzle to figure out how to get them into the ebook, but they’re there. I’m glad you like them. As for Cassie’s dad breaking the violin, I was mad at him for 2 years for doing that. In fact, I was so mad, I was stuck. My writing teacher, the author Tim Wynne-Jones, worked very hard with me to get beyond my anger and to find some compassion for him. Once I did, I was able to finally develop his character. Anyway, I’m glad the book made you happy. Play on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

