Review: ‘Beautiful Disaster’ by Jamie MgGuire


bd

 

Blurb:

INTENSE. DANGEROUS. ADDICTIVE.

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Review:

*This is my own opinion that shouldn’t influence you. If you feel like buying the book, do it. You might love it.*

I have to recognize that I wwas dying to read ‘Beautiful Disaster’ for ages. Everybody was talking about it, everybody was reading and everybody was saying how awesome it is. So, after I read all those amazing reviews, I expected a book that would knock me down. Instead, ‘Beautiful Disaster’ dissapointed me. And I soooo wanted to love it!

INTENSE. Nope.
DANGEROUS. Yeah, for those super naive girls that believe that a psycho-boyfriend it’s something good.
ADDICTIVE. Not even close.

I think this book is one of those books that you either love or loathe. Well, I was somewhere in between. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t loathe it either. It left me kind of… indiferent. There were good parts and bad parts. Scenes when I wanted to throw it away and scenes were I really liked it. That depended on Travis’s and Abby’s mood.

What annoyed me the most? Travis. My god, I wanted to beat him so hard!! What was his problem? He was an idiot sometimes! Of course, he had his moments when he was cute. But most of the time, he was an obsessed, idiot, absolutely annoying hot guy. He annoyed me when he thought that he’s the boss, when he was jealous, when he wanted to protect Abby but instead he was just an annoying ‘boyfriend’.

And Abby! What a naive chick! Why was he tolerating Travis?! This book encourages girls to believe that a boyfriend that is overprotective and treats you like his own toy is something good. I can’t understand why this book is labeled as YA. This is something that naive teenagers shouldn’t read. Yeah, I’m 15, so I’m a teenager. But believe me, sometimes I think I’m 30.

‘Beautiful Disaster’ is full of clichee. I mean, a good (tehnically) girl falls for a bad guy. Oh noo, I haven’t read about this before. Just a million times.

I think the author is talented. I liked her writing style. It’s simple, easy to follow and hooking. But this book has a serious lack of imagination. I mean, America?! Seriously?!

I still don’t get it why this book is so famous. Because of a psychopath, a naive girl, those clichees? I read indie books that are better. Waaaaay better.

What I liked about this book? As I said, when Travis was NOT an overprotective and they (meaning Travis and Abby) were normal, those scenes made me rate this book with a 2.5

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret buying and reading ‘Beautiful Disaster’. It stopped my curiousity. And yes, I will read ‘Walking Disaster’, but only because I wanna see what he really thought about Abby in the beginning of the book.

I rate this book with 2.5. Really dissapointed.

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘Beautiful Disaster’ by Jamie MgGuire

  1. I am that kind of girl that loves action and strong characters. That is why I choose not to read Beautiful Disaster. But I can’t say that in small parts this book doesn’t sound realistic: naive girls fall in love with jerks all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

