‘The Disappearing Girl’ Blog Tour: Review & Author guest post


the disappearing girl button

New Adult Contemporary
Date Published: 5/7/2013
the disappearing girl

Kayla Marlowe is slowly vanishing…

 

Last year, Kayla’s world imploded. Her beloved father died, leaving her alone with a narcissistic mother who

is quick to criticize her daughter’s appearance. During her winter break from college, Kayla’s dangerous

obsession with losing weight begins.

 

Kayla feels like her world changes for the better overnight. Being skinny seems to be the key to the happiness

she has desperately been seeking. Her mother and friends shower her with compliments, telling her how

fantastic she looks. Kayla is starving, but no one knows it.

 

Cameron Bennett explodes into Kayla’s life. He’s sexy and kind—he has every quality she has been looking

for in a guy. As Cameron grows closer to Kayla and learns of how far she’s willing to go to stay thin, he

becomes desperate to save her.

 

Kayla’s struggles with anorexia and bulimia reach a breaking point and she is forced to confront her body

image issues in order to survive. She wonders if Cameron could be the one to help heal her from the pain of

her past.

 

New Adult Contemporary-Ages 17+ due to language and sexual situations.

 Review:

I was provided with a free copy of this book for the blog tour. Thank you!

‘The Disappearing Girl’ is an amazing book that I read in a day because it’s so captivating and easy to read that I couldn’t put it down.

I was drown to this book from the moment I read the synopsis. It seemed like a book that I had to read. Not only because it seemed great, but because it seemed a book that could teach me a lot. And I was right. I think that every girl on this plannet should read ‘The Disappearing girl’ because it has a lot of lessions that we can learn from. This book shows us what really matters in life and most important, it teachs us that weight is just a number and that we shouldn’t do anything to be skinny.

The main Character, Kayla is very likable and I felf fore her. Even though my parents aways appreciated me and told me only wonderful words, I had a friend in the same situation as Kayla and I know how hard it is to have parent that are never happy with what you do. I felt very sorry for her when she became anorexic and it annoyed me that she couldn’t understand that this is a horrible thing and she needs to stop it.

I loved her relationship with Cameron. The are so cute together and I loved how protective Cameron is toward Kayla. In my opinion, he’s the perfect boyfriend.

I liked the atmosphere in this book. Event though sadness and despression is everywhere in this book, I loved the college, parties and boyfriend atmoshpere.

The story is easy to follow and Heather’s writing style is not complicated, but very beautiful. I was interested in Kayla’s destiny continously and I always wanted to see what will happen next to her.

After all, I loved this book and I give it 5 stars out of 5. Either you are a girl in despression or with an eating disorder, you should read this book. It will help, a lot!

About the author:

heather wood

Heather Topham Wood’s obsession with novels began in childhood while growing up in a shore town in New Jersey. Writing since her teens, she recently returned to penning novels after a successful career as a freelance writer. She’s the author of the Second Sight series and the standalone The Disappearing Girl.

Heather graduated from the College of New Jersey in 2005 and holds a bachelor’s degree in English. Her freelance work has appeared in publications such as USA Today, Livestrong.com, Outlook by the Bay and Step in Style magazine. She resides in Trenton, New Jersey with her husband and two sons. Besides writing, Heather is a pop culture fanatic and has an obsession with supernatural novels and TV shows.

LINKS TO BUY

Kindle Edition: http://www.amazon.com/The-Disappearing-Girl-ebook/dp/B00CMR7GFQ/

Amazon Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Disappearing-Girl-Heather-Topham-Wood/dp/1483906779/

Barnes and Noble Paperback: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1115273167

Guest post:

Things to Do While Querying Your Manuscript

 

Getting your book published is a long and taxing process. Everyone and their mother is trying to get their own book out there which leaves agents and publishers inboxes stuffed with new submissions. As you wait for that one special editor to declare your manuscript the next hot thing, here are four ways to pass the time:

 

1. Check your mailbox and email inbox every five minutes for any news on your submission.

 

You send out your query. Wait three weeks. Agent requests a partial. Wait four weeks. Agent requests a full. Wait five weeks. Agent passes. Not complaining or anything (she says with a forced grin). I understand the amount of manuscript submissions makes this a timely process, but it’s hard to sit tight. It feels like you have a beautiful newborn baby and no one is allowed to see it for months and months.

 

2. Start on the next book.

 

This is the advice I receive most from fellow writers. Instead of freaking out as you wait for news from literary agents and publishers, get cracking on book number two.

 

3. Revisions Galore.

 

I’ve learned I can bang out a first draft like nobody’s business. Going back and revising makes my head spin. My new method to keep my sanity in place is to finish my first draft. Let it sit for a week and then return to it. Editing goes much smoother for me. While sending out your query letters, you’ll likely find some editors who take pity on you and actually provide you with feedback on your work. Although you don’t have to take every suggestion as gospel, many of them will help improve your story. Most editors have years and years of experience and know what works and what doesn’t.

 

4. Get social.

 

Socialize online as much as possible during this important waiting time. There’s a good chance it’ll be a long time before your book is released. Even if you get an agent or publisher, it could be a year or longer before you’re giving a book release date. In the meantime, build your writer’s network and get your fan base going. Join writer’s forums, start a blog and promote on your social networks. Don’t make it all about your own book either. Show some love for your fellow authors. Write a few reviews, like their facebook page and retweet their publishing news.

 

 

One thought on “‘The Disappearing Girl’ Blog Tour: Review & Author guest post

Leave a Reply

