Review: ‘Undeniable’ by Micalea Smeltzer


undeniable

Blurb:

2nd book in the Second Chances Series Karlie and Holden’s story  (This is a New Adult Contemporary Romance recommended for readers 18+ it contains graphic language, sex, and deals with mature subject matter)  Karlie Reed has been crushing on Holden Marks for as long as she can remember. The problem? He’s eight years older than her and her brother’s best friend.  One night, when things get out of hand, they make a pact. They’ll spend the summer together and when Karlie goes to Joffrey Ballet School, their affair will end. No emotions, no hearts broken. But nothing is that easy.  When the unexpected happens, Karlie and Holden are rocked to the core. Karlie will run. But will Holden fight for her? NOTE: You do NOT need to read Unraveling to understand Undeniable.

Review:

*I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Thank you, Micalea!*

I am a huge fan of the ‘Second Chances’ series. I read the first book, ‘Unraveling’ a few weeks ago and I loved every second of it. I fell in love with the story, with the characters, with Micalea’s writing. My favorite character, after Katie and Jared, was Karlie. She was such an adorable teenager and her passion for ballet made ma adore her immediately. And she and Holden… well, I really wanted to read their story. So when I read the last pages in ‘Unraveling’ and saw that Micalea is actually writing their own book, I was very happy. I waited for ‘Undeniable’ for like, 20 days, but it felt like forever.

Saturday night, when I got the book, I wanted to read just the first page. But after the first page, I couldn’t stop, so I read until 2am in the morning, until I reached 50%. Then Sunday, I didn’t even want to eat. I just wanted to read,read,read. This is one of those books that won’t let you put it down.

Oh God I loved this book!! I cried, I laughed, I’ve been angry, I giggled because of how cute Karlie and Holden were together. Brilliant, brilliant!! I’m serious heart broken since I finished this book. I mean, no more Karlie and Holden?No more Jared and Katy? No more of this brilliant series? Someone get me to psychologist. I’m depressed.

Hm…. *sighing*. This love story is one of the best I’ve ever read. It’s not usual, too. I mean, I’ve never read a book where the age gap between the main characters was 8 years. But it was very interesting to read , especially for me because I have crushes only on older guys. So yup, I totally understood Karlie.

God it’s difficult to write this review. I loved this book so much and it’s hard to describe it. “Undeniable” is the kind of book that has everything and you love it, but when it comes to review it, it’s kind of impossible.

Micalea’s writing is much better than in the first book. Comparing “Undeniable” with’ Unraveling’, everything is better. Her writing is more lyrical, the emotions are easier to understand and there is no rush. I didn’t find any rushed scenes and this is an important thing for me. Plus, the editing is sooooo much better than in ‘Unraveling’.

What impressed me the most? I think Micalea’s best advantage is the way she makes you understand the feelings of the characters. I mean,this book made me very emotional. When Karlie was sad, I was sad. When she was with Holden, I could understand her nerves and her love. When she left for New York I totally understood her. I’m a voiolinist and I’m supposed to leave home in 3 years for London. So I know what she’s going through.

The characters grow and become more mature as the action and the story unfold. In the beginning, Karlie was an innocent 18 years old girl with a crush on his brother’s best friend. In the end, she was a women that lost something precious (I’m not gonna say what, because I’d give you a huge spoiler!) . A woman that lived a drama, a woman with dreams, a woman that loves.

But Karlie isn’t the only one that grows in this book. In the beginning, Holden was a “man whore” (I think Karlie called him like this one time). Every night, he was with another womam. But when he agreed to have a summer of fun with Karlie, he changed. He changed the way he was thinking, he changed his opinion about himself. Love changed him. In the end, he was a grown-up man.

The passion and chemistry between Karlie and Holden is undeniable. I loved how, in the beginning, they were trying to deny their feelings for each other. But the heart gets what she wants, right?

There are some super hot scenes in this book. I LOL-ed at some of these scenes, because of Karlie’s nerves and awkwardness. I mean, she was super cute in the first steamy scene with Holden.

I’m really sad that this series is over. I loved it, it’s one of my favorite series this year so far. I can’t wait to read Micalea’s other books.

Whatever you are reading right now, drop it and pick up the ‘Second Chances’ series. Both of the books, “Unraveling” and “Undeniable’ will make you cry, laugh, love. I’ve never expected to love this series so much, to be honest!

Now that I finished, go and read ‘Unraveling’ then ‘Undeniable’.

6 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

