Review: ‘Catching Liam’ by Sophia Bleu


catching liam

 


Blurb:

Twenty-one year-old Jillian Nichols only has one rule when it comes to boys: catch and release. Boy-catching isn’t just a game for Jillian and her friends, it’s a lifestyle. After all, boys might be good for a dance or a drink and certainly a little under-cover action of the scandalous variety, but expect much else and you’re bound for heart ache.

So when her best friends and fellow boy catchers start dropping like flies junior year, Jillian is determined to keep boys in her bedroom and out of her heart. Until she meets Liam McAvoy, the kind of guy that sticks around to make waffles and who can’t—or perhaps won’t—take a hint.

Study abroad student Liam doesn’t want to be another notch on Jillian’s bedpost. Actually he has much more interesting ideas for Jillian and her bedposts, but his student visa’s set expiration date means he can’t promise her forever. That doesn’t mean he’s going to walk away from the challenge of discovering why Jillian is hell-bent at keeping people at a distance.

Before long, neither is sure who is catching who—or if they’re playing for keeps. Jillian knows one thing though: falling in love will not only break the only rule of boy-catching, it could also break her heart.

Review:

*I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Thank you!*

Can I keep fangirling over this book? No? Yeah, that’s what I thought. I need to gather my thoughts and write a coherent review. But it’s a little bit difficult after 2 days since I finished the book.

I.LOVED.IT.! “Catching Liam” is one of the best love stories I’ve read this year and definitely one of the best books. It has everything I need in a book.

First, Liam. Oh, Liam. Delicious! Absolutely delicious, in a Scottish way. While I was reading ‘Catching Liam’  I could almost imagine his voice and his lovely accent. How amazing is this?! Apart of his damn-I’d-like-to-marry-you accent, he’s smart. Really smart. And hot. Really, really hot. And caring. And lovely. And he cookes. Waffles. Delicious waffles. I bet it’s delicious to watch him cooking them too.

Jillian. No, I didn’t think she was a whore, even though she was having a one night stand every Wednesday. I thought she was broken and she didn’t know how to cope her feelings. I actually thought that she was a really good girl inside, but the people around herand her situation made her act like this.

Liam and Jillian. PER-FECT. They are so great together, I immediately fell in love with them! She was sarcastic, uninterested in a relationship and crazy. He was smart, sarcastic too, and totally interested in a relationship. And I think he is a good influence for Jill. And those super hot scenes. Damn it!

Now, the scenerio. Well, it may seem a clichee. A girl and a guy having fun for a night fall in love with each other, but life doesn’t want to let them be happy. But something about this book, maybe the dramatic situation of Jillian, made it very unique. I really loved the atmosphere, the whole ‘Liam, leave me along, I don’t want a relationship’ thing was pretty funny. Jillian’s frustation towards Liam insistence made me laugh with tears.

Jillian’s best friends cracked me up. Seriosuly, they are some of the best characters ever! Absolutely loved them!

Even though this is a pretty funny book, there’s always something that made me sad. Maybe the references to Jill’s condition, maybe their faith, maybe the unfairness of the situation. I don’t know exaclty, but I assure you that I was sad many times while reading the book.

After I read the first 20%, I immediately fpund myself attracked to the characters and to the story. I wanted to read because I wanted to find out what is wrong with Jill and I was very curious to see if Liam will get a chance from Jill. Plus, the writing style makes it even an easier read. I read “Catching Liam” in a seat because I just loved it!And because a Scottish hottie was a character. Now judge me.

Jillian’s mother… I wanted to punch her. Hard. She is the most annoying mother ever! I mean, seriosuly, who treats her own child this way?! What a b***h!

The ending was amazing! Loved it! But I’d really like a sequel to Liam and Jill’s story. I’d like to see what happened to them, how they ended up. But I guess we will find out more about them in “Teaching Roman”.

I do believe that “Catching Liam” is the next big hit. It’s one of those books that everyone talks about and you see it everywhere. I am really happy I read this book and I think you sould read it too!

‘Catching Liam’ will stay with you long after you’ve finished it. One of the best book that had been released this year!

Rate: 5 stars out of 5

One thought on “Review: ‘Catching Liam’ by Sophia Bleu

Leave a Reply

