Review: “Stim” by Kevin Berry


???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Blurb:

Robert is different. He has Asperger’s Syndrome. He experiences the world differently to 99% of the population. Follow his entertaining and highly empathetic story as he struggles to realise and accept who he really is, try to understand other people—which he cannot—and find a girlfriend. Especially find a girlfriend—he’s decided it’s his special project for the year. Accompanied on this transformative journey by his quirky flatmates, Chloe (who also has Asperger’s, amongst other things), Stef (who hasn’t, but doesn’t mind) and their oddly-named kitten, Robert endures a myriad of awkward moments in his quest to meet a nice, normal girl…and not even a major earthquake will stop him.

This absorbing and humorous story is starkly told from Robert’s point of view, through the kaleidoscope of autistic experience.

Review:

*I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange of my honest review. Thank you, Kevin!*

I was really excited when I read about ‘Stim’. I am a lover of stories about sick people or people who have different syndrems. I don’t know why I love this kind of books… I just do! So when I read about ‘Stim’ I wanted immediately to read it.

‘Stim’ is a great book that I enjoyed! It helped me understand what exactly the Asperger’s Syndrome is. Kevin has a great way to let you in this different world. I haven’t read any other books about ASD, so I don’t have any other book I can compare Stim with. But, from what I read, I think this is the best book you can read if you want to find out more about Asperger Syndrome. ‘Stim’ is written by  someone who knows what it’s like to be an Aspie.

Of course, I found pros and cons in this book. But overall, ‘Stim’ is a book that anyone can enjoy.

First of all, it’s very easy to read. There won’t be any dark emotions or feelings to cope with because of this book. It’s kind of a light book, but there will be some times when you will feel a little sad for Robert. He’s going through some really hard and awkward things.

Also, ‘Stim’ is very funny. Robert’s cluelessness about some things and his way of wondering was freaking funny! And his way of being so polite even when he was in situations where he should be a little mouthy cracked me up! Oh, and let’s not forget about the last scene in this book!It was very funny, but maybe a little exaggerated. I mean, even as a Aspie, you can’t possible not know how to have sex, right?

I think Kevin captured this world, the Aspie world, in an amazing way! You can actually understand how hard is it for an Aspie to live among so many normal people. I’ve always respected people with different syndroms, but now, that I got a closer look, I respect them even more!

Oh, but don’t think I’ve forgot about Chloe! O.M.G. I LOVED THIS GIRL! She was so crazy and so… soo… talkativ! She’s very funny, but also smart and determinated. I think she’s my favorite character from ‘Stim’. Chloe is just really special.

I think the characters are really well created, especially the Aspies. I could easily connect with them and it didn’t took me long to see their true selves.

There was a think that bothered me: the book seemed a little too rushed. I felt like sometimes the author didn’t pay enough attention to some scenes or some details that were important to the story. Too many things happen in a short time. I also felt like the way Chloe and Robert declared their feelings in the end was a little weird, brusque and rushed.

Also, I think the book ended a little too brusque. I would’ve liked one more chapter.

All in all, as I said, ‘Stim’ is a book anybody can read and enjoy. I think it is a great way to find out more about Aspies and Asperger Syndrome. Robert’s story will let you in a world that will make you realize that people with different syndromes are as normal as we are. They are just a little bit more different than us. Definitely recommended!

Rate: 3.5 stars out of 5

One thought on “Review: “Stim” by Kevin Berry

Leave a Reply

