Review: “Never Let Go” by Scarlett Edwards


18479956

Blurb:

Inspired by true events…

The first day of college gives every girl a chance to reinvent herself.

I go and screw mine up by meeting the most gorgeous guy I’ve seen in five years while talking to my cat.

But Andrew Crowner is far from judgmental. By the end of our interaction, he has me smitten by his easy manner and kind smile. And from the way his eyes linger on me before he leaves, I start to think that maybe I’ve caught his attention, too.

I let myself believe that luck may finally be on my side. That is, until I stumble on my roommate, and her overnight guest: Spencer Ashford.

Lean, tattooed, and sexy as sin, Spencer is exactly the type I need to avoid. I would have no trouble with that… were it not for his swift and inexplicable interest in me.

Suddenly, I go from a girl with next-to-no experience with boys to one caught in the crosshairs of two completely different men.

Andrew’s interest is wholesome and sweet. Spencer’s is edgy and raw. My choice should be easy. But there are always complications, and sometimes, matters of the heart take the least expected turns.

Review:

*I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Thank you, Scarlett!*

When I read the synopsis for ‘Never Let Go’, I was very impressed and curious. Of course, I wanted to read it. Because it sounded different and wonderful.

Well, after reading ‘Never let go’, I can say that it is a wonderful book, but I can’t say it’s very different from all the NA books out there. And although I liked it and read it in, like, one day, I didn’t love it.  This was a 3 stars for me.

Ok, so the first pages are wonderful. Loved them. Seriously. Loved them. Those pages made me want to read more from this book. So I read. But then I was a little disappointed because the book was starting to bore me and roll my eyes. Don’t get me wrong. I liked the book, but there were some things that annoyed me and made me roll my eyes in annoyance.

But let’s start with the pros, shall we?

Spencer is awesome. Man, I loved him! You know, he’s that character that makes the book worth reading! He’s awesome, he’s cool, he’s funny, he’s flirty and charming, but he’s also very caring and he has  agreat heart. He’s the character with the funny and dirty mind, but he’s also got a dark side AND a soft side. Very complex character.

I really, really liked the dialogues. They were very smart, playful, very entertaining and flirty. I think that the dialogues are the strong point about ‘Never let go’. They make you wanna read more and more.

The action is somehow captivating and entertaining, but sometimes I felt like it was a little rushed, like the author didn’t pay enough attention to the details or to the action. I felt this way especially when there was a “dramatic” situation. It was like the author had inspiration and wrote something dramatic, but she rushed it, without giving a dramatic tone or feeling. It’s kind of hard to explain what I felt. The idea is that the bok felt rushed sometimes.

There were some clichees in this book, some scenes that are overused in NA books. But even though they made me roll my eyes, they also made me smile and laugh sometimes.  Also, you can find some really cute scenes in ‘Never let go’ that will make you giggle. Basically if Spencer is involved in them. 😀

My biggest problem with this book was Paige. I seriously think she was a hypocrite. I mean, like, in the beginning, she is furious about walking on Spencer in the bathroom, after he asked her if she’ll be at the party. Seriously?! He just asked If  you’d be there! He didn’t invite you! And you knew about his reputation. Did you think you were special? UGH! And if you were so upseat about Andrew, why did you flirt and laugh with Spencer? Then why did you kiss Andrew if you were upseat about Spencer?! One minute you were thinking about Spencer and then Andrew was around and you’d completelly forget about him and vice versa. It was really annoying. You were pretending that you’re torn between them, but you were not. Very annoying thing. And sometimes you were a prude, not a good girl. Now, don’t think I hate Paige, because I don’t. I have to admit that there were times when I really liked her, because she was smart and happy and a really good friend. But there were some other times, when I wanted to yell at her.

I still don’t know what Paige’s story is and this kind of annoyed me. Some mystery is good, but when the authos keep hinting about her life before and never actually says anything about it, it’s kind of annoying.

Overall, ‘Never Let Go’ is an easy, fun, romantic read. You will have fun with Spencer and his silly remarks. I definitely recommend this book if you are a sucker for NA stories or for love triangles. J

Rate: 3 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

