ARC Review: “Fruit of Misfortune” by Nely Cab (‘Creatura’ #2)


*The cover isn’t available yet.*

1911893_10202859729241848_376962984_n

Let me kick off this review by saying that I was the 1st person  to rate ‘Fruit of Misfortune’ on GoodReads, and I feel very honored and happy to be able to do it. Nely, thank you so much for alowing me to read this book right after you sent it to the editor. You can’t imagine what this means to me, and I thank you for that.

The fact that Nely sent me a copy of the book has nothing to do with the rating or with the review. This is my honest review and opinion about a book I read, and m relationship with the author doesn’t influence it. Just had to make this clear.

Do you know that moment when you wait two years for a book, and when you finally get it, you read it in only 2 days? Two.freaking.days.! You read it, with your heart beating faster and you’re eyes shining because you love the characters so much and the story just sucks you in. And then you finish it. And it’s shocking, and heartbreaking, and you just hate the author, even if you love her, because she’s the reason why you have a new favorite series on your shelf.

Let me give you a glimpase into my mind the moment I’ve finished ‘Fruit of Misfortune’:  Blank. Total silence. And theeen….

WTF? What was this? Did this really happen? Ugh Nely I hate you! I can’t believe you did this to us! What was that cliffhanger? Why? I am… I just can’t… let me crawl in a ball and cry! Why did I finish it? Nely like OMG you need to write the 3rd book UGH I want that book. Why was this book so short OMG I want more I am so depressed I can’t I won’t I can’t

So this was it. This was my mind after finishing ‘Fruit of misfortune’. I was in complete awe and shock.

The reason behind my shock?

The end. That was… that was… such a HUGE plot twist. Such a surprise! I didn’t expect that! Nely, that was such a.. strike! It was so unexpected! That cliffhanger was even worse than the cliffhanger from the first book. You need to start writing the 3rd book, because you’ll have angry readers threatening to kill you if you don’t give them the 3rd book! Including me. J

Reading “Fruit of misfortune” meant always gasping in surprise. The 2nd book in the ‘Creatura’ series is so, but so different from the 1st book! While ‘Creatura’ is more of a love story, ‘Fruit of misfortune’ is a fantasy book, with lots of action and plot twists.

This time, Nely chose not to focus so much on the love story. She, instead, focused on the battle between Isis and the monster inside her or on her attempt to save everyone around her. And let me say, this change was so unexpected, but so welcomed! “Fruit of misfortune” is very, but very captivating! There’s always a plot twist, always some battle, always a secret revealed, always something that makes you gasp and make you turn the page.

Although I liked this change, I have to admit that I missed David, his romantic lines and the cute story between him and Isis. I missed them and the romantic scenes between them. I missed Galen and Eryx and their stupid, funny lines. This book is more intense and very captivating, but I still missed the romantic side of the 1st book.

The character development in this book was surprising. David was more mature, I think, and more real. But he was kinda absent in this book.  I don’t know why I felt this way. I felt like he was never there. But, as I said, this book is very different from ‘Creatura’, so David was always doing something, always trying to save Isis.

Oh, speaking of Isis. She got on my nerves. She was always stubborn, always whiny, depressed and so, so annoying! I don’t know what happened to her in this volume, but she was always getting on my nerves. She took some really bad decision, and she just wouldn’t listen to anyone. And omg, why did she do this to David?!

One of my favorite characters – also the new character in this series- is Galilea. She.was.so.awesome.! Such a badass! And that scene, in the wood! It was so funny! She was so cool, with her short hair and sassy attitude. Loved her.

O.M.G. The plot twists! The plot twists were so unexpected and so…so… mind-blowing!

Nely Cab did it again. She wrote a new brilliant book. But, she didn’t do just that. She took this series to a new level. While in ‘Creatura’ you can find an amazing love story, in ‘Fruit of Misfortune’ you can find more action than love. So, if you felt like ‘Creatura’ was too much of a love story for you, I think you should give ‘Fruit of Misfortune’ a try. You will be surprised, believe me. I didn’t expect the story to took such a drastic turn, but I loved it.

I can’t believe I read the 2nd book in the ‘Creatura’ series. I’m just, like, so sad to know that I need to wait another year or more for the 3rd book. I want it now!

I  definitely think this was a perfect sequel. It’s more captivating and more fun than the 1st book, and I loved this thing. I already miss David, Galen and Eryx, and I SO cannot wait to meet them again in the 3rd volume.

So, people. Go read this book. Now. Because there’s a lot of action, huge plot twist, some hot scenes *wink wink*, sexy characters and unexpected situations. And funny scenes.

Rate: 5 stars out of 5

One thought on “ARC Review: “Fruit of Misfortune” by Nely Cab (‘Creatura’ #2)

Leave a Reply

