Review: “Tethered Wings” by Cameo Renae (“Hidden Wings” #3)


50737-tetheredwings-high

Blurb:

Back from their quest into the Underworld, with the threat of Lucian hanging over head, Emma is faced with yet another problem—the Immortal Bond. The bond surpasses any reason and is something so complex, not much is known about it. Once an Immortal Bond is made, it is forever. A conjoining of two fated hearts, destined to be perfect companions.
Emma’s heart, already bonded with her Guardian, Kade, has unexpectedly and inconveniently bonded with Ethon, the son of Lucifer. Now she is faced with a decision she doesn’t want to make. Both want nothing more than to love and protect her.
With the arrival of new company and old friends, things are bound to get heated.

Review:

*I was provided with a free copy of this book from Cameo, in exchange for my honest review. Thank you!*

I feel like I’ve waited for this book for, like, forever! The 2nd book in the ‘Hidden Wings’, ‘Broken Wings’, left me with a huge cliffhanger and I had to read the 3rd book as soon as possible! The waiting was horrible, believe me! But finally, on March 21st, I got the book. And I was so, unbelievable happy to be able to finally read it! I even dropped ‘The picture of Dorian Gray’ right in the middle for ‘Tethered Wings’.

Even though I enjoyed ‘Tethered Wings’ a lot, ‘Broken Wings’ remains my favorite book in the ‘Hidden Wings’ series.  Comparing this book with the other two, there was hardly any action in it. Yes, there were some dangerous situations, but they were easily passed, so ‘Tethered Wings’ is very different from ‘Broken Wings’.

This book basically focuses on Jeremy and Lia’s visit and on the love triangle between Kade, Emma and Ethon. It might sound boring, but it’s not. Of course, I would’ve liked some more action, since I was used to lots of action from Cameo’s books, but there still are many great things about ‘Tethered Wings’ that didn’t let me put the book down. Let me mention that I was never bored. There was always something that would make me turn the page, something that would make me want to read.

First, there was Lia and Jeremy. O em gi, I love these two. They are so crazy, and funny, and such amazing friends! I love Lia’s enthusiasm and craziness. I love how upbeat she is, how everything she does, it has a note of drama in it. I loved how she would make fun of Jeremy, and I loved Jeremy. He’s so… ugh, he’s so cute! He’s so moody, but he’s so adorable! And he’s such a great friend! They both are!

I love the relationship between Emma, Lia and Jeremy. I love their friendship. I love how they make fun of each other.

This book has so many funny scenes that you will laugh until you cry. There are more reason why this book is funny.

First, Lia, Jeremy and Emma. Lia always makes fun of Jeremy, and Jeremy’s responses are so funny! Plus, he’s such a dork! His awkwardness is so funny!

Than, Ethon and Kade. Maybe it’s inappropiate to find them funny, but it was so funny how they would get all moody around each other and how they would (literally) throw flames with their eyes.

Let’s not forget about the scenes between Dominic and Malachi. OMG, these guys are so funny! There are some scenes where there are both Malachi and Dominic, and Jeremy and Lia. God, those scenes! They cracked me up!

One of the reasons why I kept reading, was Kade. Jee, this boy is perfect. Literally perfect. He’s so romantic, so hot, so charming, so protective, so… so… I cannot find the right words to describe him. He’s everything a girl can ask for and so much more. I really hope he won’t get his heart broken, because Emma and Kade make the perfect couple.

When I was a kid, I loved love triangles. No? Not so much. So this aspect also made me rate this book with 4 stars. I don’t like love triangles. And I hated how Emma would say that she hates Ethon, but hug him the next second. I understand that was part of the bond, but it was clear that she could resist the bond if she wanted to. Plus, how could she let him do those things to her and still say she loves Kade? I think Emma’s choice is pretty simple and obvious, but now, after I’ve read the short preview from ‘Gilded Wings’, I am not so sure about that choice.

I think you’ve already understood that Emma was not my favorite characters this time. Even though I loved her in the first two books, in ‘Tethered Wings’ I wanted to kick her so many times! First, I felt like she was playing with Kade. Let me say it again. She proved that she can resist the bond. But she would still blame the bond for everything she did with Ethon. She was so whiny and she always cried. I understand that this was an emotional period for her, but still, she would cry without a reason. I thought she was strong! I hope she gets back to her old self in the next book!

It was so good to see some of my favorite characters again! Caleb, Courtney (love these two), Samuel, Jeremy, Lia, Kade, Emma’s ‘aunt’… everyone! The character development was great in this book. Except of Emma. I felt like she had kind of a downfall in ‘Tethered Wings’.

Cameo’s writing is as beautiful as always. Seriously, how can she write such beautiful things? I am amazed by her writing, and I will always be. Cameo, you have my respect. You are such an amazing author, and so talented! But please, please, writing the 4th book faster, because…

The ending was such a huge cliffhanger. And I don’t mean the mind-blowing last chapter, where Lucifer makes his appearance (ugh, Lucifer, I would tell you to go to Hell, but it wouldn’t be such a big deal!), but the short preview from ‘Gilded Wings’. Like, what was that?! UGH I want the 4th book, right now!

I think I’ve already said this, but Cameo’s characters are all so real. They feel so real, and you feel like you know them forever! I love this thing. I love how those characters feel like your bffs.

Caleb and Lia were so cute, but I don’t quite understand the thing between them. Lia was always saying how hot Dominic is, how much she wants him, she even eyed Emma with jealousy for dancing with him. Than she hooks up with Caleb? It kinda felt like it happening with no reason or explanation, but they were still cute. I hope this develops in the next books.

I don’t know if it was just my copy, but I found many grammar and punctuation mistakes. Which was weird, because Cameo’s books are always perfectly edited. But it might be only my copy, since it’s a copy for review, so this doesn’t change in any way my rating.

“Tethered Wings” was a great sequel that I truly enjoyed. The ending left me craving more of Cameo’s amazing love story and beautiful writing-style. The last chapter left me really sad, for both Emma and Kade. I hope they will find their way through it.

I can’t wait to read the ‘Gilded Wings’. I bet it will be amazing!

Rate: 4 stars out of 5

Purchase it from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cameo-Renae/e/B004X2PEH0/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1394488931&sr=8-2-ent

2 thoughts on “Review: “Tethered Wings” by Cameo Renae (“Hidden Wings” #3)

Leave a Reply

