Citite in carti! (17)


Asa cum spuneam in recenzia cartii “The Book Thief” , autorul cartii are un scris genial, iar metaforele pe care le foloseste creaza niste citate absolut superbe. La mine, cam toata cartea este subliniata, pentru ca gaseam cate un citat pe care vroiam sa il pastrez la fiecare pagina. Astazi m-am hotarat sa selectez cateva citatele cele mai indragite de catre mine si sa le impartasesc cu voi. Mi-am facut singura viata grea, pentru ca a alege numai cateva citate dintr-o carte plina de frumuseti este practic imposibil.

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

“It kills me sometimes, how people die.”

 

“Like most misery, it started with apparent happiness.”

“I am haunted by humans.”

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”

“Imagine smiling after a slap in the face. Then think of doing it twenty-four hours a day.”

“A snowball in the face is surely the perfect beginning to a lasting friendship.”

“Usually we walk around constantly believing ourselves. “I’m okay” we say. “I’m alright”. But sometimes the truth arrives on you and you can’t get it off. That’s when you realize that sometimes it isn’t even an answer–it’s a question. Even now, I wonder how much of my life is convinced.”

“A small but noteworthy note. I’ve seen so many young men over the years who think they’re running at other young men. They are not. They are running at me.”

“His soul sat up. It met me. Those kinds of souls always do – the best ones. The ones who rise up and say “I know who you are and I am ready. Not that I want to go, of course, but I will come.” Those souls are always light because more of them have been put out. More of them have already found their way to other places.”

“My heart is so tired.”

“The consequence of this is that I’m always finding humans at their best and worst. I see their ugly and their beauty, and I wonder how the same thing can be both.”

“Somewhere, far down, there was an itch in his heart, but he made it a point not to scratch it. He was afraid of what might come leaking out.”

“I have to say that although it broke my heart, I was, and still am, glad I was there.”

“Together, they would watch everything that was so carefully planned collapse, and they would smile at the beauty of destruction.”

“I guess humans like to watch a little destruction. Sand castles, houses of cards, that’s where they begin. Their great skills is their capacity to escalate.”

“The words. Why did they have to exist? Without them, there wouldn’t be any of this.”

“She took a step and didn’t want to take any more, but she did.”

“Of course, I’m being rude. I’m spoiling the ending, not only of the entire book, but of this particular piece of it. I have given you two events in advance, because I don’t have much interest in building mystery. Mystery bores me. It chores me. I know what happens and so do you. It’s the machinations that wheel us there that aggravate, perplex, interest, and astound me. There are many things to think of. There is much story.”

“…one opportunity leads directly to another, just as risk leads to more risk, life to more life, and death to more death.”

“Please, trust me, I most definitely can be cheerful. I can be amiable. Agreeable. Affable. And that’s only the A’s. Just don’t ask me to be nice. Nice has nothing to do with me.”

“The words were on their way, and when they arrived, she would hold them in her hands like the clouds, and she would wring them out like the rain.”

 

Absolut toate citatele imi plac la nebunie. Insa citatul meu preferat este acesta:

10411104_988619917847690_4481242534082280821_n

“Look at my bruises.”

Stiti ce vreau sa fac acum? Vreau sa iau cartea de pe raft si sa ma apuc din nou de ea. I’ll never get over it, I’m sure of it. Si daca acest citate nu v-au convins sa cititi cartea, atunci nu stiu ce v-ar putea convinge. Seriously. You have to read it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

