Author interview: Whitney Barbetti, author of “Ten Below Zero”


Hello, my dear friends! Today, 14 February 2015, Valentine’s Day, I have a small surprise for you!

I have arranged an interview with the author Whitney Barbetti, the one that wrote Ten below Zero, an amazing book which I have read (and loved!) this year. If you remember, I’ve posted the review a few days ago. If you don’t remember it, you can always read it here. Be aware, please, that the review is written in Romanian since… well, 90% of my readers are from Romania. I will try to translate the review in English these days, so everyone could read it.

Whitney accepted my interview request (thank you again, Whitney!) and today I have the pleasure to offer you an interview with her! I am very excited for it and I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

But first, let’s take a look at “Ten Below Zero”:

22529936

Description:

“In here,” he said, pushing on the skin above my heart, “you’re ten below zero. And you’re closer to death than I am.”

My name is Parker. My body is marked with scars from an attack I don’t remember. I don’t want to remember. I choose to live my life by observation, not through experience. While people are laughing and kissing and connecting, I’m in the corner. Watching them live. I’m indifferent to everything, everyone. The only emotion I feel with any kind of depth is annoyance, and I feel it often.

A text message sent to the wrong number proves to be my undoing.

His name is Everett, but I call him rude. He’s pushy, he’s arrogant, he crowds my personal space, and worst of all: he makes me feel.

He chooses to wear all black, all the time, as if he’s waiting to attend a funeral. Probably because he is.

Everett is dying. And he’s spending his final days living, truly living. In doing so, he’s forcing me to feel, to heal. To come face to face with the demons I suppressed in my memory.

He hurts me, he fulfills me, he completes me. And still, he’s dying.

The book can be bought from Bookdepository.

Now that we all know what one of her books is about, let’s see the interview.

1.Hello, Whitney! It’s a pleasure to have you on my blog. Would you like to tell us something about you,please?

I live in southeast Idaho, a land of potatoes and windmills.

2.Could you please tell us something about your books?

Ten Below Zero is my standalone novel. He Found Me and its sequel, He Saved Me are about Andra, a runaway, who unexpectedly falls for Julian.

3.Describe “Ten Below Zero” in five words, please.

Here’s what I hope: poignant, emotional, thought provoking, romantic.

(I can assure you, Whitney, that your book is exactly these things. 😉 )

4.How did you come up with the story for “Ten Below Zero”?

Ten Below Zero is based on true people and a true story. I felt like I ripped a piece of my soul writing Ten Below Zero.

5.When did you start writing?

When I was probably ten years old.

6.Who or what inspires you?

Really rich, evocative writing.  Stephen King, Tarryn Fisher, and a whole slew of great poets. I particularly love William Faulkner, Poe, Shakespeare, and more modern: Christopher Poindexter, Mary Kate Teske, and Tyler Knott Gregson.

7.Which is your favourite book series or book? Why?

I have so many, but The Bible stands out among them all. There’s a lot of poetry in the Bible and I’ve never been unable to find a verse that speaks to me when I really need it.

8.What other things do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy baking, cooking, reading, watching terrible television. 😉

9.What advice would you give to someone who wants to publish a book?

Never stop writing, and always be true to yourself. Accept that you will never please every single reader out there.

10.What kind of music do you enjoy?

Mostly alternative, but I love classic rock too.

11.What are your future plans?

I’m going to keep writing! I’ll write until I’ve worn the pads of my fingers.

Do you have a message for our readers today?

If you are reading a book that is easy to put down, chances are it’s not the book for you. Don’t waste your time reading literature that doesn’t set your soul on fire.

 

Ok, people! This was Whitney Barbetti for you! Hope you all enjoyed this interview. Please give us your thoughts in the comments below.

You can contact Whitney and learn more about her by checking out her website.

Leave a Reply

