Review: “Marker of Hope” (“Creatura” #3) by Nely Cab


marker-of-hope

Blurb:

Who will save her from herself?
Upon her return from Greece with three new friends and a broken heart, Isis’ hunger for human flesh is stronger than ever. She’s a miserable mess after losing David following her betrayal. Her mutation into Creatura is all but over when she receives the surprise of her life, compelling her to seek out David’s family. Only, they’ve broken all ties with her, and she doesn’t know how to reach them.
Turpis, the demonic beings that attacked Isis in Greece, have tracked her whereabouts. Now, in order to fend for her life, Isis must join forces with deities she doesn’t trust.
Is Isis truly the Marker of Hope as she’s believed to be, or will she lose the battle to her starving inner beast and demons, obliterating humankind from existence? Find out in the epic finale of the best-selling CREATURA SERIES.

About the author:

nely-author-pic

Nely Cab is a Writer of stuff, a Master Coffee Drinker, a Food Maker & Eater, an Imaginary World Conqueror, and an Air Breather. She talks to herself—a lot—in her South Texas home while she plots stories about fantasy worlds and sips coffee from a pitcher. She’s known for cooking far too much food and has a tendency to overdo…well, everything. It is rumored that she’s fabulous. Nely Cab is the best-selling author of the Creatura series.

Keep up with Nely Cab on her blog:
www.nelycab.blogspot.com

Visit the website:
www.nelycab.com

Follow her on twitter:
www.twitter.com/nelycab

Check out her Instagram:
www.instagram.com/nelycab

Buy her books on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Nely-Cab/e/B0056QMZKQ

Review:

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review. “Creatura” is one of my all time favorites. I read the first book when I was thirteen and barely knew anything about Greek mythology. I had just moved to Greece from Romania and I was struggling to learn the language and adapt in this new country. Everything was pretty tough, but suddenly, there was this book full of romance and fantasy and adventure that made me feel infinitely better. For me, “Creatura” was a turning point in my life as a reader. It gave me a new perspective, it made me love books even more and it helped me through a rough time. For that, this series will forever have a special place in my heart.

I fought for “Creatura” to be published in Romania. I reread the book at least three times. I waited for the sequel. I read and loved the 2nd book, “Fruit of misfortune”. And then I proofread the final book and even though I was incredibly honored to be able to go on a journey towards the end of the series along with the author, there was this sadness that followed me until the end of the book. One of my favorite series was coming to an end and that is always a tragic moment for me. I was so in love with this series, with Isis, David, Eros and every character, that the thought of not reading any more of their adventures was sometimes too much. But enough of that. Let’s celebrate this amazing closing to a marvelous series.

“Marker of Hope” is hands down one of the best and most captivanting books I’ve ever read. I don’t think there could’ve been a better way to end this series, to be quite honest. Nely Cab definitely put her heart and soul into this book, and the result is a story that not only captivates you, but it fascinates you and it makes you forget about the real world around you. After two amazing books, “Creatura” and “Fruit of Misfortune”, the story of the characters we love comes to an epic end.

I adored “Creatura” and definitely loved the 2nd book, but “Marker of Hope” is something else. Nely took it to another level with this book. Even though she put a lot of hard work into this book, her talent shines like never before in “Marker of Hope”. I truly feel that this is her best work, even though “Creatura” will always be my favorite book in the series, but that has more of a sentimental value for me. “Marker of hope” though is pure talent, dedication and hard work. And the result is amazing.

 

There is an obvious development in Nely writing skills. The text flows effortlessly. Sometimes it feels like her words literally run through your veins. The voices she uses are way more real, and the character development is a strong point of this book. David, Isis, Eros, any character you can think of, they are all much more mature and their voices match their age, the situations they’ve been through and the burdens that they carry. Isis is trying to save everyone, David is trying to save Isis, Eros would do anything to have Isis, Galilea is protecting Isis in her own, unique way. But the enemy doesn’t stay away, and they keep attacking our beloved characters. Brave as they are, they always fight for the ones they love.

Throughout the book, secrets are revealed, alliances are being made, fights are being fought and love is present everywhere, even in the hardest situations. This series has thought me that true love can in fact be lethal, but it will always survive and win. But, above all, “Marker of hope” taught me that being brave is a virtue and a way to save yourself. Facing your demons is essential to your survival, but also caring for the ones close to you.

There are so many plot twists and things that absolutely blew my mind in this book that sometimes, it was hard to keep up with them. Whenever I was thinking that this is it, the situation will calm down now, Nely surprised me with a new bomb. The fact that I could never guess what would happen next is definitely something that made me love the book even more. The fights between Isis & co. and their enemies were also very captivating for me and I followed them with my heart in my throat, turning the pages as fast as I could.

The plot is very well thought and the dynamic of the action is just right. Not too slow, not too rushed. Just right. The suspense builds up towards the end and you can feel their sorrow, all the despair and the hope of the characters as they fight for their lives. One specific plot twist left me shocked and heartbroken. But the ending, overall, mended my broken heart, made me shed a few tears and left me wanting for more of Nely’s words.

Overall, “Marker of Hope” is an excellent closing to a fantastic series. It answers all your questions and then some more. The plot twists captivate you, Nely’s words absolutely enchant you, David will make you fall in love with him again and you will live every page of this book along with the characters, feeling their emotions and cheering for them. Even though I will forever miss this series, I am excited for everyone to read this third book. Yes, I do recommend “Marker of Hope” and the “Creatura” series. It’s a must-read!

Rate: 5 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

